Skip to main content

Please go back to portrait mode for best experience

Mr. Vijay Kumar Sharma

Nominee Director

Shri Vijay Kumar Sharma superannuated as Chairman, Life Insurance Corporation of India on 31st December, 2018. Prior to his taking over as Chairman on 16th December 2016, he served as Chairman (In charge) from 16th September, 2016 and Managing Director, Life Insurance Corporation of India from 1st November, 2013. From December 2010 to November 2013, he served as Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer, LIC Housing Finance Limited (LICHFL), a premiere housing finance company in the country.

Shri Vijay Kumar Sharma, born on 19th December, 1958 is a post-graduate from Patna University. Shri Sharma joined Life Insurance Corporation of India as Direct Recruit Officer in 1981 and grew up with the Corporation since then. He held various challenging assignments pan India and in all operational streams including in-charge positions at different levels. Working across length and breadth of the country has added immensely to his experience and honed his understanding of demographics of the country, socio-economic needs of different regions and multi-cultural challenges in implementation of Corporate's objectives.

As MD & CEO of LIC HFL, he stabilized the operations of the company under most challenging circumstances of negative media glare, intense scrutiny by Regulator & others and turned it around to be the best Housing Finance Company in 2011.

He has been an inspirational leader who utilizes negotiation skills gained over thirty seven years of extensive experience in insurance and financial sectors and strongly connects to the grass root levels, believes in bottom-up approach and has the ability to see the Big Picture and translate it to reality. He is known as Growth Leader, leading the Organisation to surge ahead and turnaround on its growth path in all the segments of performance.

Shri Vijay Kumar Sharma was Chairman, Board of Directors of LIC Housing Finance Ltd, LIC (International) Bahrain B S C ©, Life Insurance Corporation Singapore Pte. Ltd. and other companies. He was also Director on Board of Kenindia Assurance Co. Ltd.

Currently he is on Board of ACC Limited, ICICI Bank Limited, Tata Steel Ltd. & Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd.

Meet our Leaders

Mr. Anand Mahindra

Chairman, Mahindra Group

Dr. Anish Shah

MD & CEO, Mahindra Group

Mr. Rajesh Jejurikar

ED & CEO, Auto & Farm Sectors

Mr. C.P. Gurnani

MD & CEO, Tech Mahindra

Ms. Abanti Sankaranarayanan

EVP, Group Public Affairs

Mr. Amarjyoti Barua

EVP, Group Strategy

Mr. Amit Kumar Sinha

MD & CEO, Mahindra Lifespaces

Ms. Asha Kharga

EVP, Group Customer & Brand

Mr. Hemant Sikka

President, Farm Sector

Mr. Kavinder Singh

MD & CEO, Mahindra Holidays

Mr. Manoj Bhat

Group CFO

Mr. Mohit Kapoor

EVP, Group Technology

Mr. Naveen Raju

EVP, Group Legal

Mr. Puneet Renjhen

EVP, Group Partnerships & Alliances

Mr. R. Velusamy

President, Automotive Technology & Product Development

Mr. Rajeshwar Tripathi

CHRO, Auto & Farm Sectors

Mr. Ramesh Iyer

Vice Chairman & MD, Mahindra Finance

Mr. Rampraveen Swaminathan

MD & CEO, Mahindra Logistics

Mr. Ruzbeh Irani

President, Group HR

Mr. Veejay Ram Nakra

President, Auto sector

Mr. Vinod Sahay

President, Aerospace & Defence; Chief Purchase Officer, Auto & Farm Sectors

Mr. Vivek Agarwal

President, APJI & Corporate Development, Tech Mahindra

Mahindra Group - Arrow Direction Top Icon